Our top pick
Best J1772 to NACSBest for: A Tesla / NACS car using J1772 chargers
A UL-2251-certified J1772-to-NACS adapter — the one a Tesla or a 2026+ NACS-port EV needs to use the enormous installed base of J1772 chargers.
Read the full review ↓ · Compare all 4 picks ↓
The short answer
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|
| 01 | LENZ J1772 → NACS AdapterA UL-2251-certified J1772-to-NACS adapter — the one a Tesla or a 2026+ NACS-port EV needs to use the enormous installed base of J1772 chargers. | A Tesla / NACS car using J1772 chargers | | $29.99·Amazon |
| 02 | | A cheap J1772 → Tesla adapter | | $22.47·Amazon |
| 03 | Lectron J1772 to NACS (80A)Lectron's UL 2252 certified 80-amp adapter, with a built-in temperature sensor and auto-shutoff — the brand-name safe pick for a Tesla on J1772 chargers. | A Tesla's everyday adapter | | $49.99·Amazon |
| 04 | A2Z EV Atom (J1772 to NACS)The Stellar Plug's mirror image: UL2252 and CSA certified, 80 amps, with an integrated locking pin so a public J1772 cable cannot be yanked off your port. | Public charging and shared lots | | $45.00·Amazon |
01 LENZ J1772 → NACS AdapterA UL-2251-certified J1772-to-NACS adapter — the one a Tesla or a 2026+ NACS-port EV needs to use the enormous installed base of J1772 chargers.
Best for: A Tesla / NACS car using J1772 chargers
$29.99·Amazon02 FOCSPROD J1772 → Tesla AdapterA UL-2252-listed budget adapter for charging a Tesla at any J1772 station — cheap insurance for a road trip.
Best for: A cheap J1772 → Tesla adapter
$22.47·Amazon03 Lectron J1772 to NACS (80A)Lectron's UL 2252 certified 80-amp adapter, with a built-in temperature sensor and auto-shutoff — the brand-name safe pick for a Tesla on J1772 chargers.
Best for: A Tesla's everyday adapter
$49.99·Amazon04 A2Z EV Atom (J1772 to NACS)The Stellar Plug's mirror image: UL2252 and CSA certified, 80 amps, with an integrated locking pin so a public J1772 cable cannot be yanked off your port.
Best for: Public charging and shared lots
$45.00·Amazon
#ad · Live prices from the Amazon Product API, as of October 18, 2026. Where we have no verified live price, we show none — we would rather leave a gap than print a number that has gone stale.
If you drive a Tesla or a newer NACS-port EV and want to plug into the huge installed base of J1772 chargers, the LENZ J1772-to-NACS adapter is the one to buy - explicitly certified to UL 2251, the connector-safety standard that matters. The FOCSPROD is the budget alternative, UL-2252 listed, for a road-trip spare.
Check the direction first. A J1772-to-NACS adapter goes on the end of a J1772 charger's connector so it fits a NACS (Tesla) port. If you have the opposite need - a J1772 car that wants to use Tesla equipment - you want the NACS-to-J1772 roundup instead. If the standards are new to you, the connector types explainer is the place to start.
Why the UL listing is the whole story
These adapters are cheap and functionally similar, so the differentiator is the safety certification. UL 2251 and UL 2252 are the standards written for EV connectors carrying charging current; an adapter that names one of them has been tested to a real bar, and one that names none is a pass no matter how low the price. Current rating is a non-issue - both picks are rated to 80 amps, far above any home or public AC circuit.
AC only. These enable AC charging at J1772 stations. They do not enable DC fast charging - whether your car can DC fast-charge at a given site is a matter of the car and the network, not a passive adapter.
The picks
The LENZ is the pick because it is explicitly certified to UL 2251 and opens the J1772 network to a Tesla or a 2026+ NACS-port car (Hyundai, Kia, Rivian and others) - the conservative, well-listed choice at a low price. The FOCSPROD is UL-2252 listed and typically even cheaper, a fine budget spare to keep in the frunk. Either one is small enough to lose, so clip it somewhere you will not forget it.
Two step-up options are worth knowing. The Lectron 80Ais UL 2252 certified as part of Lectron's whole adapter lineup rather than as a one-off claim, and it adds a built-in temperature sensor with auto-shutoff - heat is the failure mode that matters on an adapter, and this one watches for it. Lectron states IP67 / IP44 protection and a -22F to 122F operating range. The A2Z EV Atom is UL2252 and CSA-C22.2 certified with an integrated locking pin, silver-plated copper conductors and a UL94-V0 shell, supplied in a hard case. That locking pin is the practical answer to adapter theft at a public J1772 station, which is the one place a small, valuable part regularly walks off.
In detail
A Tesla / NACS car using J1772 chargers
J1772 → NACS80A maxLevel 1 & 2 ACUL 2251 certified
A UL-2251-certified J1772-to-NACS adapter — the one a Tesla or a 2026+ NACS-port EV needs to use the enormous installed base of J1772 chargers.
- Compatibility
- 9
- Safety listing
- 10
- Build quality
- 8
- Value
- 10
Pros
- +Explicitly certified to UL 2251 — the connector-safety standard that matters most on an adapter carrying full current
- +Opens the J1772 network to a Tesla or a 2026+ NACS-port car (Hyundai, Kia, Rivian and others)
- +Inexpensive and pocketable
Cons
- −AC charging only
- −Small enough to misplace — keep it clipped in the frunk
Don't buy this if…
…your car uses a J1772 port. This adapter points the other way — a J1772 car needs a NACS-to-J1772 adapter to use Tesla equipment.
A cheap J1772 → Tesla adapter
J1772 → NACS80A / 250VAC chargingUL 2252 listed
A UL-2252-listed budget adapter for charging a Tesla at any J1772 station — cheap insurance for a road trip.
- Compatibility
- 9
- Safety listing
- 9
- Build quality
- 7
- Value
- 9
Pros
- +Certified to UL 2252 for the Tesla/NACS side of the connection
- +One of the least expensive ways to open the J1772 network to a Tesla
- +Rated well above any home or public AC circuit
Cons
- −Value brand — inspect for a snug, rattle-free fit before relying on it
- −AC only, like every passive adapter
Don't buy this if…
…you want the most established name. It does the same job as the LENZ; buy on price and the safety listing, both of which check out here.
A Tesla's everyday adapter
80A / 19.2kWJ1772 to NACSUL 2252 certifiedIP67 / IP44
Lectron's UL 2252 certified 80-amp adapter, with a built-in temperature sensor and auto-shutoff — the brand-name safe pick for a Tesla on J1772 chargers.
- Safety listing
- 10
- Build & weather
- 9
- Compatibility
- 9
- Value
- 7
Pros
- +UL 2252 certified as part of Lectron's whole adapter lineup, not a one-off claim on a single listing
- +Built-in temperature sensor with auto-shutoff — the failure mode that matters on an adapter is heat, and this one watches for it
- +Manufacturer states IP67 / IP44 weather protection and a -22F to 122F operating range
Cons
- −Costs noticeably more than the commodity J1772-to-NACS adapters that do the same job at the same current
- −AC only, like every passive adapter
Don't buy this if…
…you just want a cheap spare to live in the frunk. The LENZ and FOCSPROD are listed, adequate and half the price.
Public charging and shared lots
80A / 19.2kWJ1772 to NACSUL2252 + CSAIP54 · locking pin
The Stellar Plug's mirror image: UL2252 and CSA certified, 80 amps, with an integrated locking pin so a public J1772 cable cannot be yanked off your port.
- Safety listing
- 10
- Build & weather
- 8
- Compatibility
- 9
- Value
- 8
Pros
- +UL2252 and CSA-C22.2 certified, with silver-plated copper conductors and a UL94-V0 flame-retardant shell
- +Integrated locking pin secures the connection — the practical answer to adapter theft at a public J1772 station
- +Rated -30C to 50C and supplied in a hard case, so it survives living in the frunk
Cons
- −IP54 rather than the IP67 of A2Z's NACS-to-J1772 Stellar Plug
- −Priced above the commodity adapters, for certification and hardware rather than more charging speed
Don't buy this if…
…the adapter never leaves your own garage. Theft protection and a hard case are worth little on a charger only you touch.
The four compared
| Adapter | Amps / kW | Direction | Safety listing | Weather | Locks in | Price tier |
|---|
| LENZ | 80A / 250V | J1772 charger to NACS car | UL 2251 | Not stated | No | Budget |
| FOCSPROD | 80A / 250V | J1772 charger to NACS car | UL 2252 | Not stated | No | Budget |
| Lectron 80A | 80A / 19.2 kW | J1772 charger to NACS car | UL 2252 certified | IP67 / IP44, -22F to 122F | No | Mid |
| A2Z EV Atom | 80A / 19.2 kW | J1772 charger to NACS car | UL2252 + CSA-C22.2 | IP54, -30C to 50C | Yes, locking pin | Mid |
All four are AC-only adapters for Level 1 and Level 2 charging, and all four are rated to 80 amps - far above any AC station you will realistically meet. Ratings are as published by each manufacturer; see our methodology for how we compare them.
How to choose a J1772-to-NACS adapter
1. Check the direction, then ignore the amperage race
This adapter fits over a J1772 charger's connector so it will mate with a NACS (Tesla-style) port. Every pick here is rated to 80 amps, and no public or home AC station will ask for that: a J1772 Level 2 unit delivers 32 or 40 amps typically, 48 at most. The number is margin, not performance.
2. UL 2251 or UL 2252 - and why the difference barely matters here
Both are UL safety standards for EV charging couplers and adapters. UL 2252 is the newer, broader one, written to cover adapters across AC and DC use cases; UL 2251 is the long-standing connector-and-coupler standard. For AC adapters like these, either listing means an independent lab tested the part to a written standard - which is the bar. What should worry you is an adapter that names neither.
3. Level 1, Level 2, and what the adapter passes through
At 120 volts a Level 1 J1772 outlet gives you 12 to 16 amps, roughly 1.4 to 1.9 kW - a few miles of range an hour. At 240 volts a Level 2 J1772 unit at 40 amps gives 9.6 kW. The adapter passes whatever the pair negotiates and adds nothing; the arithmetic is in Level 1 vs Level 2. If you are plugging into a shared or load-managed station, expect the reduced current the site is set to deliver.
4. Think about where the adapter lives
An adapter that stays in the frunk for road trips wants a hard case and a weather rating; one that lives permanently on a garage charger wants neither. If it will be used at public J1772 stations, the A2Z's locking pin is the feature that stops it walking off while you are in the store - a small part left mated to a public cable is an easy thing to lose.
5. Do not expect DC, and consider a native-NACS charger at home
These are AC adapters. DC fast charging is negotiated between the car and the network, so no passive adapter changes what a station will deliver - see do NACS adapters work at Superchargers. And if the adapter is only ever bridging your own home charger, a native-NACS home charger removes the extra joint entirely. Adapters are for the world outside your garage.
So, which one?
Buy the LENZ as the listed, low-cost default, or the FOCSPROD if it is cheaper on the day - both are fine everyday adapters. Step up to the Lectron 80A if you want a brand-wide UL 2252 certification and a temperature sensor with auto-shutoff, and to the A2Z Atom if you charge at public J1772 stations often enough that a locking pin and a hard case are worth having.
How we picked
We compiled published specifications from manufacturer manuals and spec sheets, verified the safety listings (UL / ETL), computed the real running and installation costs, checked the wiring math against the NEC continuous-load rule, and read aggregated owner reviews — then scored each product against a published rubric. The scores are judgments from documented research — they are not bench measurements, because we do not have a test lab and we are not going to pretend we do. Every spec and cost figure is cited in Sources.
Questions
Can a Tesla use a J1772 charger with this adapter?+
Yes - a J1772-to-NACS adapter lets a Tesla (or another NACS-port EV) plug into a J1772 Level 1 or Level 2 charger for AC charging. Tesla has historically included a version of this adapter, but a listed aftermarket one is a cheap spare. It does not affect DC fast charging.
What is the difference between UL 2251 and UL 2252?+
Both are UL safety standards for EV connectors and adapters carrying charging current; you want to see one of them named on the product. UL 2252 is the newer, broader standard, written to cover adapters across AC and DC use cases, while UL 2251 is the long-standing connector and coupler standard. For AC adapters like these, treat either listing as the reassurance you are looking for, and decide on price and fit.
Can someone steal my adapter at a public charger?+
It happens - the adapter is small, valuable and sits mated to a public cable while you are away from the car. Two defences: take it with you when the session ends, or buy an adapter with a locking mechanism. The A2Z Atom on this page has an integrated locking pin for exactly this, and the vehicle's own port lock holds the adapter in place while charging.
Do I need this if my next car has a NACS port?+
Likely yes, at least for a while. The installed base of home and public J1772 chargers is enormous and will not disappear overnight, so a NACS-port car benefits from a J1772-to-NACS adapter to reach all of it. Our NACS transition explainer covers what is changing and when.
Receipts
We do not run a testing lab, and we do not pretend to. Where a measured number came from someone else's lab, we name them and link them. Where we could not verify something, we say so on the page rather than quietly leaving it out. Read our full method.